Bylaws Subcommittee



Unconfirmed minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Bylaws Subcommittee held in the Edinburgh Room, Municipal Chambers, The Octagon, Dunedin on Monday 06 November 2017, commencing at 9.40 am





Cr Andrew Whiley


Deputy Chairperson




Cr Jim O'Malley

Cr Kate Wilson










Kristy Rusher (Manager Civic and Governance), Nick Sargent (Manager Transport Strategy)


Governance Support Officer Rebecca Murray




1 Apologies

There were no apologies.


2 Confirmation of agenda



Moved (Cr Kate Wilson/Cr Jim O'Malley):

That the Committee:


Confirms the agenda without addition or alteration


Motion carried (BYL/2017/008)



3 Declarations of interest

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arose between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.



Moved (Chairperson Andrew Whiley/Cr Kate Wilson):

That the Committee:


a) Notes the Elected Members' Interest Register attached as Attachment A; and

b) Confirms the management plan for Elected Members' Interests.

Motion carried (BYL/2017/009)


4 Speed Limits Bylaw 2004 - Amendment 8


The public were consulted on the Draft Speed Limit Bylaw 2004 Amendment 8 from 18 September to 20 October 2017. The amendment proposed lower permanent speed limits on the following roads in Dunedin:

a. The Esplanade, St Clair

b. Forbury Road, St Clair

c. Wingatui Road, Mosgiel

d. Gladstone Road North, Mosgiel.

The report considered the commentary and submissions for each road section and made recommendations to the Hearings Subcommittee as to whether the proposed speed limits should be upheld or changed.

Twenty-three submissions were received during consultation, twenty-one indicated full support of the proposed changes and one indicated partial support, wanting a lower speed limit on an adjacent road. One submission indicated opposition to the proposed bylaw, specifically Wingatui Road.

The Committee gave consideration to the staff recommendation, the submissions received resolved as follows:


Moved (Cr Kate Wilson/Cr Jim O'Malley):

That the Committee:


a) Recommends that the Speed Limits Bylaw 2004 Amendment 8 be adopted by the Council, with speed limits to come into effect on 1 February 2018.

Motion carried (BYL/2017/010)


The meeting concluded at 9.50 am.