Grants Subcommittee

Place Based Community Grants



Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Grants Subcommittee held in the Edinburgh Room, Municipal Chambers, The Octagon, Dunedin on Tuesday 23 October 2018, commencing at 9.00 am





Cr Aaron Hawkins


Deputy Chairperson

Cr Andrew Whiley



Amanda Dyer

Cr Christine Garey


Cr Marie Laufiso

Hannah Molloy


Lois Scott




Joy Gunn (Manager, Community Development and Events), Nick Orbell (Community Advisor)


Governance Support Officer       Rebecca Murray




1       Public Forum

1.1    Blueskin Resilient Communities Trust (BRCT)


Representatives from BRCT spoke and provided further information to support their appeal.  They requested that the Grants Subcommittee reconsider the decision to decline their funding application.  They responded to questions from the Subcommittee.


2       Apologies


Moved (Cr Aaron Hawkins/Cr Andrew Whiley):

That the Subcommittee:


Accepts the apology from Ms Desiree Williams.


Motion carried (GS/2018/028)


3       Confirmation of agenda



Moved (Cr Aaron Hawkins/Cr Andrew Whiley):

That the Subcommittee:


Confirms the agenda without addition or alteration.


Motion carried (GS/2018/029)



4       Declarations of interest

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arose between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.



Moved (Cr Aaron Hawkins/Cr Andrew Whiley):

That the Subcommittee:


a)     Notes the Elected or Independent Members' Interest Register.

b)     Confirms the proposed management plan for Elected or Independent Members' Interests.

Motion carried (GS/2018/030)


Part A Reports

5       Place Based Community Grants Appeal by Blueskin Resilient Communities Trust


Consideration of the appeal received from the Blueskin Resilient Communities Trust (BRCT). 


Moved (Cr Christine Garey/Cr Marie Laufiso):

That the Subcommittee:


a)         Grants the funding of $31,406.00 for the 2018/19 year.

Motion carried (GS/2018/031)



The meeting concluded at 10.27am.