Planning and Environment Committee



Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Planning and Environment Committee held in the Edinburgh Room, Municipal Chambers, The Octagon, Dunedin on Tuesday 16 April 2019, commencing at 1.33 pm






Cr David Benson-Pope


Deputy Chairperson

Cr Damian Newell

Cr Conrad Stedman





Mayor Dave Cull

Cr Rachel Elder


Cr Christine Garey

Cr Doug Hall


Cr Aaron Hawkins

Cr Marie Laufiso


Cr Mike Lord

Cr Jim O'Malley


Cr Chris Staynes

Cr Lee Vandervis


Cr Andrew Whiley





Sandy Graham (General Manager City Services); Simon Pickford (General Manager Community Services); Alan Worthington (Resource Consents Manager) Andrea Farminer (Heritage Advisor); Nathan Stocker (Policy Planner Urban Development Capacity); Anna Johnson (City Development Manager)



Governance Support Officer       Lauren McDonald



1       Public Forum

1.1    Public Forum - Generation Zero Dunedin, to Oil and gas drilling being proposed for the coast of Otago.


Josh Ferrer and Jen Coatham, co-convenors of Generation Zero Dunedin spoke to the groups’ intent to stop gas exploration off the coast of Dunedin.  They referenced global warming concerns (quoting published reports), harmful environmental effects and advised that in their opinion there was no long-term benefit from income or jobs to the country.

They sought for Council to instruct staff to investigate the risk of the gas exploration project moving forward and to take steps to stop drilling off New Zealand shores.  Councillors were requested to write individually to the Minister for the Environment, in opposition to the Marine Discharge Consent being granted.  A petition was also made available for Councillor signature support.

Ms Coatham and Mr Ferrer responded to questions of clarification from councillors.


2       Apologies


Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Mike Lord):

That the Committee:


Accepts the apology from Cr Kate Wilson.


Motion carried (PLA/2019/012)


3       Confirmation of agenda





Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Deputy Chairperson Damian Newell):

That the Committee:


   Confirms the agenda with the following alteration:

   In regard to Standing Order 2.1, Option C be adopted in relation to moving and seconding and speaking to amendments.


Motion carried (PLA/2019/013)



4       Declarations of interest

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arose between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.



Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Deputy Chairperson Damian Newell):

That the Committee:


a)     Confirms the Elected Members' Interest Register; and

b)     Confirms the proposed management plan for Elected Members' Interests.

Motion carried (PLA/2019/014)


Part A Reports

5       Planning and Environment Non-Financial Activity Report for the Quarter Ended 31 March 2019


A report from Customer and Regulatory Services and Community and Planning provided an update on activities including city development, resource consents, building services, alcohol licensing, environmental health, animal control and parking enforcement for the quarter ended 31 March 2019.


The General Manager Community Services, Simon Pickford and Resource Consents Manager, Alan Worthington responded to questions by Councillors on the Residents’ Opinion Survey results.


A correction was noted for section 15 of the report for the average inspection time being 2-3 days, rather than the average time for inspection bookings.


The Chair introduced Ms Andrea Farminer, Heritage Advisor to the Committee and, outlined her role and spoke to the funding approved by the Dunedin Heritage Fund Committee for the period 1 August 2018 to 3 February 2019.



Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Jim O'Malley):

That the Committee:


a)         Notes the Planning and Environment Non-Financial Activity Report for the Quarter Ended 31 March 2019

        .Motion carried (PLA/2019/015)



Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Aaron Hawkins):

That the Committee:

               Notes the Dunedin Heritage Fund grants


Motion carried (PLA/2019/016)


6       Business land capacity assessment


A report from the Planning provided an overview of the projected demand and capacity of business land for Dunedin City.


The Policy Planner Urban Development, Nathan Stocker and the City Development Manager, Anna Johnson responded to questions from councillors in regard to projections and assumptions for population growth, employment rate, housing requirements, land capacity, business, tourism and accommodation growth.



Moved (Cr Aaron Hawkins/Deputy Chairperson Damian Newell):

That the Committee:


a)     Notes the conclusions of the Business Land Capacity Assessment dated March 2019

Motion carried (PLA/2019/017)



Cr Doug Hall left the meeting at 2:15 p.m.


7       Central City Plan: George Street Consultation Evaluation Report


The Planning report provided an update on the recently completed community engagement process (undertaken to inform the concept design process for the George Street project) and the next stage of work within the Central City Plan.

Principal Urban Designer, Kathryn Ward and Group Manager Transport, Richard Saunders responded to questions in regard to feedback from the consultation workshops, use of public amenity space, parking allocation and traffic management planning.


Mr Saunders advised the a report on the concept design for public amenities and parking management would be provided to the Committee ahead of the next stage of public consultation.


Cr Doug Hall returned to the meeting at 2:23pm.

Cr Newall left the meeting at 2:23pm and returned at 2:28pm.



Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Aaron Hawkins):

That the Committee:


a)     Notes the Central City Plan: George Street Consultation Evaluation Report

b)     Notes that staff will report back to the committee with a concept plan for George Street before commencing the next round of engagement

The Motion was put and carried on a division by 13 votes to 1


For:          Crs Dave Cull, Rachel Elder, Christine Garey, Doug Hall, Aaron Hawkins, Marie Laufiso, Mike Lord, Jim O'Malley, Damian Newell, Chris Staynes, Conrad Stedman, Andrew Whiley and David Benson-Pope (13).

Against:     Cr Lee Vandervis (1).





8       Items for Consideration by the Chair


There were no items for discussion.







The meeting concluded at 2:58pm.