Otago Peninsula Community Board



Minutes of the Inaugural meeting of the Otago Peninsula Community Board, held in the Clifford Skeggs Gallery, Municipal Chambers, The Octagon, Dunedin on Wednesday 02 November 2022, commencing at 11.30 am





Paul Pope


Deputy Chairperson

Hoani Langsbury



Stacey Kokaua-Balfour



Lox Kellas



Cheryl Neill



Cr Andrew Whiley





Sandy Graham (Chief Executive Officer) and Jeanine Benson (Group Manager, Transport)


Governance Support Officer                  Jennifer Lapham



The Chief Executive Officer chaired the meeting until the appointment of the Chairperson.


1          Apologies

             An apology was received from Edna Stevenson.


             Moved (Lox Kellas/Paul Pope):

             That the Board:


             Accepts the apology from Edna Stevenson.


             Motion carried (OPCB/2022/024)


2          Confirmation of agenda



The agenda for the meeting was noted.




Part A Reports

3          Welcome by the Chief Executive Officer, Sandy Graham


The Chief Executive Officer (Sandy Graham) welcomed all to the meeting and provided an introduction to the formal swearing of members.


4          Declarations by Members


Members made and attested their declarations as required by Schedule 7, Clause 14 of the Local Government Act 2002.


5          Voting Procedure for Appointment of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson


A report from Civic advised that voting for appointments such as Board Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of a Community Board was to be carried out in accordance with Schedule 7, Clauses 25(2) and (3) of the Local Government Act 2002 Amendment 2004.



Moved (Cheryl Neill/Hoani Langsbury):

That the Board:



Adopts (System B), First Past the Post, as the voting method for the appointment of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

Motion carried (OPCB/2022/025)


6          Election of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson


The Chief Executive called for nominations for the role of Chairperson.



Moved (Lox Kellas/Hoani Langsbury):

That the Board:

Appoints Paul Pope as the Chairperson.

Motion carried (OPCB/2022/026)




The Chairperson assumed the chair and called for nominations for the Deputy Chairperson.



Deputy Chairperson

Moved (Cheryl Neill/Andrew Whiley):

That the Board:

             Appoints Cheryl Neill as the Deputy Chairperson.


Moved (Lox Kellas/Paul Pope):

That the Board:

             Appoints Hoani Langsbury as the Deputy Chairperson


A request was made to take the vote by secret ballot.  Following the counting of votes Hoani Langsbury was declared the Deputy Chairperson.



Motion carried (OPCB/2022/027)


7          Acknowledgement of a Retiring Member


The Board acknowledged the service given by Graham McArthur during his terms in office.


The Chairperson invited Mr McArthur to the table and he spoke of his time on the Community Board



Moved (Paul Pope/Cheryl Neill):

That the Board:


a)     Records its sincere thanks to Graham McArthur for the loyal and conscientious service given to the Dunedin community as a member of the Otago Peninsula Community Board for the 6-year period 2016 to 2022.

b)     Extends its sincere appreciation for the services rendered and every good wish for the future.

             Motion carried (OPCB/2022/028)


8          Meeting Schedule


A report from Civic requested that the Board give consideration to the date of the next Otago Peninsula Community Board meeting.  It was proposed for Thursday 1 December, commencing at 10.00 am.


Moved (Paul Pope/Cheryl Neill):

That the Board:


a)     Confirms that its next meeting will be held on Thursday 1 December commencing at 10.00 am.

b)     Notes that the meeting schedule for 2023 will be considered by the Board at the meeting of Thursday 1 December.

             Motion carried (OPCB/2022/029)


9          Local Government Legislation - Briefing for the Inaugural Council Meeting


A report from Civic provided a general explanation of the following legislation as required by clause 21 of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002:

a)         The Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987;

b)        The Local Authorities (Members' Interests) Act 1968;

c)         Sections 99, 105 and 105A of the Crimes Act 1961;

d)        The Secret Commissions Act 1910; and

e)        The Financial Markets Conduct Act 2013.


Moved (Paul Pope/Lox Kellas):

That the Board:


a)     Notes the advice regarding key legislation that applies to members of Council, its Committees and Community Boards.

             Motion carried (OPCB/2022/030)




The meeting concluded at 11.57 pm.