

Council

MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Dunedin City Council held in the Edinburgh Room, Municipal Chambers, The Octagon, Dunedin on Tuesday 10 August 2021, commencing at 1.00 pm

PRESENT

MayorMayor Aaron HawkinsDeputy MayorCr Christine Garey

Members Cr Sophie Barker Cr David Benson-Pope

Cr Rachel Elder Cr Doug Hall
Cr Carmen Houlahan Cr Marie Laufiso
Cr Mike Lord Cr Jim O'Malley
Cr Jules Radich Cr Chris Staynes
Cr Lee Vandervis Cr Steve Walker

Cr Andrew Whiley

IN ATTENDANCE Sandy Graham (Chief Executive Officer), Simon Drew (General

Manager Infrastructure and Development), Simon Pickford (General Manager Community Services), John Christie (Manager Enterprise Dunedin), Graham McKerracher (Manager, Council Communications and Marketing), Jeanette Wikaira (Manahautū (General Manager Māori, Partnerships and Policy), Gavin Logie (Chief Financial Officer), Robert West (General Manager Corporate and Quality), Clare Sullivan (Manager Governance) and David Ayers (Chairperson, Independent Review Panel)

Governance Support Officer Lynne Adamson

1 PUBLIC FORUM

There was no Public Forum.

2 APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

3 CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

Moved (Mayor Aaron Hawkins/Cr Christine Garey):

That the Council:

Confirms the agenda without addition or alteration.

Motion carried

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arose between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.

Moved (Mayor Aaron Hawkins/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Council:

- a) Notes the Elected Members' Interest Register; and
- b) **Confirms** the proposed management plan for Elected Members' Interests.
- c) **Notes** the proposed management plan for the Executive Leadership Team.

Motion carried

REPORTS

5 REPRESENTATION REVIEW 2021

A report from Civic presented the findings of the review of representation arrangements conducted by the Independent Review Panel.

David Ayers (Chairperson) and Clare Sullivan (Manager Governance) spoke to the report and responded to questions on the review process and the proposed recommendations.

Moved (Mayor Aaron Hawkins/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Council:

- a) **Adopts** the following recommendations as the Council's initial proposal for consultation with the community, that:
 - i) The Council continues to be elected at large.
 - v) No further communities be constituted, and none be divided for electoral purposes.

Motion carried (CNL/2021/164)

Moved (Mayor Aaron Hawkins/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Council:

- a) **Adopts** the following recommendations as the Council's initial proposal for consultation with the community, that:
 - ii) The number of Councillors remains at 14.
 - iii) There continue to be six Community Boards and the boundaries of those six Boards remain the same.
 - iv) The number of elected members on the Community Boards remains at six and that the Council continues to appoint one Councillor per Board.

Motion carried (CNL/2021/165) with Cr Lee Vandervis recording his vote against

Moved (Mayor Aaron Hawkins/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Council:

b) **Notes** that public notice will be given of the proposals contained in this resolution.

Motion carried (CNL/2021/166)

| The meeting con- | cluded at 2.06 pm | | |
|------------------|-------------------|--|--|
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| MAYOR | ••••• | | |