

Regulatory Subcommittee

MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Regulatory Subcommittee held in the Edinburgh Room, Municipal Chambers, The Octagon, Dunedin on Wednesday 06 October 2021, commencing at 2:05pm - Speed Limits Bylaw (Amendments 10 and 11)

PRESENT

Chairperson Cr Andrew Whiley

Members Cr Rachel Elder

Cr Mike Lord Cr Jim O'Malley

IN ATTENDANCE Simon Drew (General Manager, Infrastructure and

Development), Nick Sargent (Transport Strategy Manager), Stacey Hitchcock (Transport Planner) and Clare Sullivan

(Manager Civic)

Governance Support Officer Jennifer Lapham

1 WELCOME

2 APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

3 CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Rachel Elder):

That the Subcommittee:

Confirms the agenda without addition or alteration.

Motion carried

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arose between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Rachel Elder):

That the Subcommittee:

- a) Notes the Elected Members' Interest Register; and
- b) **Confirms** the proposed management plan for Elected Members' Interests.

Motion carried

PART A REPORTS

5 PROPOSED SPEED LIMIT BYLAW AMENDMENTS 10 AND 11

A report from Transport provided the feedback received from two separate consultations undertaken on proposed speed limit changes under the Speed Limit Bylaw 2004.

The Transport Strategy Manager, Nick Sargent spoke to the report and responded to questions regarding the process and the proposed new speed limit rule.

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Jim O'Malley):

That the Subcommittee:

- a) **Pursuant** to Standing Orders 23.6 revokes the following resolutions from the 28 October 2020 Regulatory Subcommittee meeting in regard to 70km/h speed limits:
 - i) **Recommends** that the speed limit for all locations detailed for:
 - Blackhead 1, 2, 3 (Blackhead Road, Tunnel Beach Road to Brighton Road intersection); Fairfield 1-4 (Coalstage Road, Main road, McMaster Road, Old Brighton Road); Green island 1-2 (Church Hill Road, Green Island Bush Road); Waldronville 1-2 (Allen South Road, Brighton Road) and Westwood 1 (Jeffcoates Road) move to 70km/h.
 - ii) Recommends that the speed limit for all locations detailed for Allanton, Brighton, Saddle Hill, Scroggs Hill as: Allanton 1-3 (Allanton-Scroggs Hill Road, Bush Reserve Road and Law Road); Ocean View 1-3 (Brighton Road, McColl Road and Rockview Road); Saddle Hill 1 (Saddle Hill Road), Scroggs Hill 1-3 (Sproull Drive, Finnie Road and Scurr Road) to move to 70km/h.

- iii) Recommends that the proposed speed limits for all locations detailed for Mount Cargill Road (Mt Cargill 1-3, Upper Junction 1) as: Mount Cargill 1 (Green Road) at 70km/h and Upper Junction 1 (Mt Cargill Road) at 70km/hT
- iv) **Recommends** that the proposed speed limits for Highcliff, Otago Peninsula Otago Peninsula 2 as: Macandrew Bay 2-4, Otakou 2, Portobello 2 and 3, revised Tomahawk 3 and 4 (now re named Tomahawk 1 and 2), Highcliff 1 as 70km/h.
 - v) **Recommends** that the proposed speed limit for Halfway Bush, North Taieri as: Halfway Bush 1 to 4 (Brinsdon Road, Chalmerston Road, Dalziel Road, Halfway Bush Road) and North Taieri 1 (Flagstaff-Whare Flat Road) move to 70km/h.

Motion carried (RSCCC/2021/007)

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Chairperson Andrew Whiley):

That the Subcommittee:

b) Recommends to Council:

That the proposed speed limits for all locations detailed in Attachment H – appendix 5. Mount Cargill as: Mount Cargill 1 (Green Road) at 60 km/h and Upper Junction 1 (Mt Cargill Road) at 60 km/hr.

Motion carried (RSCCC/2021/008)

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Mike Lord):

That the Subcommittee:

Adjourns the meeting.

Motion carried

The meeting adjourned at 2.56 pm and reconvened at 3.00 pm

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Jim O'Malley):

That the Subcommittee:

Adjourns the meeting.

Motion carried

The meeting adjourned at 3.02 and reconvened at 3.08 pm

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Rachel Elder):

That the Subcommittee:

c) **Notes** the following resolutions remain unchanged from the 28 October 2020 Regulatory Subcommittee meeting:

Amendment 10

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Jim O'Malley):

That the Subcommittee:

i) Recommends that the Speed Limits Bylaw 2004 – Amendment 10 (Port Chalmers) be adopted by Council, with a speed limit of 40km/h for the six roads in question (Wickliffe Terrace, Borlases Road, Albertson Avenue, Grey Street, Mount Street, Beach Street) with the speed limits to come into effect on 6 December 2021.

Motion carried (RSCCC/2020/015)

Amendment 11

ii) Recommends that the Speed Limits Bylaw 2004 – Amendment 11, for Central City (CBD) and Green Island be 30km/h as proposed, be adopted by Council, with the speed limits to come into effect on 6 December 2021.

Motion carried (RSCCC/2020/016)

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Rachel Elder):

iii) **That** the speed limit for Allanton, Brighton, Saddle Hill, Scroggs Hill as: Brighton 1 (Scroggs Hill Road) move to 80km/h from the 100km/h as proposed.

Motion carried (RSCCC/2020/018)

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Jim O'Malley):

iv) That the proposed speed limits for all locations detailed for Mount Cargill Road (Mt Cargill 1-3, Upper Junction 1) as: Mount Cargill 2 (Shortcut Road) at 50km/h and Mount Cargill 3 (Shortcut Road) at 50km/h (as recommended).

Motion carried (RSCCC/2020/019)

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Jim O'Malley):

- v) **That** the proposed speed limits for Highcliff, Otago Peninsula and Otago Peninsula 2 as:
 - Broad Bay 1, Company Bay 1, Harington Point 1, Harwood 1, Macandrew Bay 1, Otakou, Portobello 1, The Cove 1-5, Highcliff 2 as 40km/h.
 - Highcliff 3, Pukehiki village to Seaton Road, Portobello as 60km/h.

Motion carried (RSCCC/2020/020)

Moved (Cr Andrew Whiley/Cr Jim O'Malley):

vi) **That** the proposed speed limit for Halfway Bush, North Taieri as: North Taieri 2 (Three Mile Hill) remain at 80km/h.

Motion carried (RSCCC/2020/021)

d	I)	Notes that if adopted by Council that the changes to Speed Limits Bylaw 2004 – Amendment 10 and Amendment 11 will come into effect on 6 December 2021
٦.	Moti	on carried (RSCCC/2021/009)
The meeting co	onclu	ded at 3.13 pm .