

Maori Participation Working Party MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Maori Participation Working Party held via Audio-Visual link, on Wednesday 16 March 2022, commencing at 4:00 pm.

PRESENT

Chairperson Mayor Aaron Hawkins

Deputy Chairperson Edward Ellison

MembersCr David Benson-PopeMatapura EllisonCr Marie LaufisoCr Mike Lord

Cr Chris Staynes Cr Jim O'Malley

Vicky Totoro Paulette Tamati-Elliffe

Emma Wyeth Sandy Graham Jeanette Wikaira

IN ATTENDANCE Cr Sophie Barker, Cr Rachel Elder, Cr Carmen Houlahan, Cr Jules

Radich, Cr Steve Walker

Governance Support Officer Clare Sullivan, Governance Manager

1 OPENING

The meeting opened with a karakia by Edward Ellison

2 APOLOGIES

An apology for late arrival was noted from Tania Williams.

3 CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The Mayor noted that Council had received correspondence from mana whenua and acknowledged Edward Ellison and Matapura Ellison. As a matter of priority, the meeting considered only the correspondence. Agenda items were deferred.

Edward Ellison and Matapura Ellison advised members of the working party and Councillors in attendance that following recent developments Rūnaka members would not be attending future meetings of the Maori Participation Working Party.

Discussion was held.

| dward Ellison closed the meeting with a karakia. | |
|--|--|
| ne meeting concluded at 4:55 pm. | |
| | |
| | |
| HAIRPERSON | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |