

Planning and Environment Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an extraordinary meeting of the extraordinary Planning and Environment Committee held via zoom audio visual link on Thursday 14 April 2022, commencing at 2.30 pm.

PRESENT

Chairperson Cr David Benson-Pope

Deputy Chairperson Cr Sophie Barker Cr Steve Walker

Members Cr Rachel Elder Mr Matapura Ellison

Cr Christine Garey Ms Rachel Wesley
Mayor Aaron Hawkins Cr Carmen Houlahan

Cr Marie Laufiso Cr Mike Lord
Cr Jim O'Malley Cr Jules Radich
Cr Chris Staynes Cr Andrew While

Cr Andrew Whiley

IN ATTENDANCE Sandy Graham (Chief Executive); Robert West (General

Manager Corporate and Quality), Simon Drew (General Manager Infrastructure and Development), Glen Hazelton (Project Director, Central City Plan) and Clare Sullivan (Manager

Governance)

Governance Support Officer Lauren McDonald

1 APOLOGIES

Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Committee:

Accepts the apology for absence from Cr Doug Hall.

Motion carried

2 CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Committee:

Confirms the agenda without addition or alteration.

Motion carried

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arose between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.

Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Rachel Elder):

That the Committee:

- a) Notes the Elected Members' Interest Register; and
- b) **Confirms** the proposed management plan for Elected Members' Interests.

Motion carried

PART A REPORTS

4 GEORGE STREET RETAIL QUARTER DEVELOPED DESIGN

A report from the Project Management Office provided an update on the developed design for George Street Retail Quarter.

The Chief Executive (Sandy Graham), General Manager Infrastructure and Development (Simon Drew) and Project Director, Central City Plan (Glen Hazelton) spoke to the report and responded to questions.

Moved (Chairperson David Benson-Pope/Cr Jim O'Malley):

That the Committee:

Adjourns the meeting.

Motion carried

The meeting adjourned at 4:00pm reconvened at 4:12 pm.

Cr Chris Staynes left the meeting at 04:32 p.m.

Cr Sophie Barker left the meeting at 4:26 p.m. and returned to the meeting at 4:56 p.m.

Moved (Mayor Aaron Hawkins/Mr Matapura Ellison):

That the Committee:

Notes the George Street Retail Quarter Developed Design report.

Division

The Committee voted by division

For: Crs Sophie Barker, Rachel Elder, Matapura Ellison, Christine Garey,

Aaron Hawkins, Carmen Houlahan, Marie Laufiso, Mike Lord, , Jim O'Malley, Steve Walker, Rachel Wesley. Andrew Whiley and David

Benson-Pope (13).

Against: Crs Jules Radich and Lee Vandervis (2).

Abstained: Nil

The division was declared CARRIED by 13 votes to 2

Motion carried (PLA/2022/005)

The meeting concluded at 5:24 p.m.				
CHAIRPERSON				