

Infrastructure Services Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Infrastructure Services held in the Council Chamber, Dunedin Public Art Gallery, The Octagon on Tuesday 14 February 2023, commencing at 10.00 am

PRESENT

ChairpersonCr Jim O'MalleyDeputy ChairpersonCr Brent Weatherall

MembersCr Bill AcklinCr Sophie Barker

Cr David Benson-Pope Cr Christine Garey
Cr Kevin Gilbert Cr Carmen Houlahan
Cr Marie Laufiso Cr Cherry Lucas
Ms Donna Matahaere-Atariki Cr Mandy Mayhem

(via audio visual link)

Ms Marlene McDonald Mayor Jules Radich
Cr Lee Vandervis Cr Steve Walker

Cr Andrew Whiley

IN ATTENDANCE Sandy Graham (Chief Executive Officer), Simon Drew (General

Infrastructure and Development), Robert West (General Manager Corporate and Quality), Jeanette Wikaira (Manahautū – General Manager Māori, Partnerships and Policy), Simon Pickford (General Manager Community Services), Dr Glen Hazelton (Project Manager Central City Plan), Josh von Pein (Programme Manager Major Projects), Simon Speirs (Team Leader Regulation Management – Transport) Simon Smith (Asset and Funding Management) and Clare Sullivan (Principal

Committee Advisor)

Governance Support Officer Rebecca Murray

1 KARAKIA TIMATANGA

Ms Marlene McDonald opened the meeting with a karakia timatanga.

2 PUBLIC FORUM

There was no Public Forum.

3 APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members were reminded of the need to stand aside from decision-making when a conflict arose between their role as an elected representative and any private or other external interest they might have.

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Committee:

- a) Notes the Elected or Independent Members' Interest Register; and
- b) **Confirms** the proposed management plan for Elected or Independent Members' Interests.

Motion carried (ISC/2023/001)

PART A REPORTS

5 ACTIONS FROM RESOLUTIONS OF INFRASTRUCTURE SERVICES COMMITTEE MEETINGS

A report from Civic provided an update on the implementation of resolutions made at Infrastructure Services Committee meetings.

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr Sophie Barker):

That the Committee:

Notes the Open Actions from resolutions of Infrastructure Services Committee meetings.

Motion carried (ISC/2023/002)

6 INFRASTRUCTURE SERVICES COMMITTEE FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME

A report from Civic provided an update on the Infrastructure Services Committee forward work programme.

The General Manager Infrastructure and Development (Simon Drew) responded to members' questions.

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Committee:

Notes the Infrastructure Services Committee forward work programme.

Motion carried (ISC/2023/003)

7 RETAIL QUARTER UPGRADE - UPDATE REPORT

A report from the Project Management Office provided an update on the Retail Quarter Upgrade project and discussed how the project is tracking relative to its budget and timeframes. It also considered how flexibility could be incorporated into the remainder of the project to minimise future expense should modification be deemed necessary.

The General Manager Infrastructure and Development (Simon Drew), Project Manager Central City Plan (Dr Glen Hazelton) and Programme Manager Major Projects (Josh von Pein) responded to members' questions.

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr David Benson-Pope):

That the Committee:

Adjourns the meeting.

Motion carried

The meeting adjourned at 10.51 am and reconvened to 11.05 am.

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr Marie Laufiso):

That the Committee:

Adjourns the meeting.

Motion carried

The meeting was adjourned at 11.22 am and reconvened at 11.24 am.

Cr Weatherall assumed the Chair at 11.24 am.

Cr O'Malley resumed the Chair at 11.26 am.

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr Marie Laufiso):

That the Committee:

Notes the Retail Quarter Upgrade - Update Report.

Division

The Committee voted by division

For: Crs Sophie Barker, David Benson-Pope, Christine Garey, Marie Laufiso, Mandy

Mayhem, Jim O'Malley, Steve Walker, and Ms Marlene McDonald and Ms Donna

Matahaere-Atariki (9).

Against: Crs Bill Acklin, Kevin Gilbert, Carmen Houlahan, Cherry Lucas, Lee Vandervis,

Brent Weatherall, Andrew Whiley and Mayor Jules Radich (8).

Abstained: Nil

The division was declared CARRIED by 9 votes to 8

Motion carried (ISC/2023/004)

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Committee:

Adjourns the meeting.

Motion carried

The meeting adjourned at 12.21 pm and reconvened at 12.33 pm.

Moved (Cr Jim O'Malley/Cr Steve Walker):

That the Committee:

Adjourns the meeting.

Motion carried

The meeting was adjourned at 12.54 pm and reconvened at 12.55 pm.

Moved (Mayor Jules Radich/Cr Lee Vandervis):

That the Committee:

Requests an updated Retail Quarter Upgrade report to Council on 28 February 2023 that provides further information on the contract break costs, a 10km two-way option, minimal change from current design, pedestrianisation and a do nothing option.

Division

The Committee voted by division

For: Crs Bill Acklin, Kevin Gilbert, Carmen Houlahan, Cherry Lucas, Lee Vandervis,

Brent Weatherall, Andrew Whiley and Mayor Jules Radich (8).

Against: Crs Sophie Barker, David Benson-Pope, Christine Garey, Marie Laufiso, Mandy

Mayhem, Jim O'Malley, Steve Walker, and Ms Marlene McDonald and Ms Donna

Matahaere-Atariki (9).

Abstained: Nil

The division was declared LOST by 9 votes to 8

8 NAMING OF A PRIVATE WAY

In a report from Transport approval was sought for the naming a private way at 45 Torquay Street, Abbotsford, Dunedin.

The Asset and Funding Manager (Simon Smith) and Team Leader Regulation Management (Simon Spiers) responded to members' questions.

Moved (Cr Lee Vandervis/Cr Sophie Barker):

That the Committee:

Names the private way at 45 Torquay Street, Abbotsford as 'Torridge Lane'

Motion carried (ISC/2023/005)

Ms Marlene McDonald closed the meeting with a karakia Whakamutunga.
The meeting concluded at 1.06 pm.
CHAIRPERSON

9

KARAKIA WHAKAMUTUNGA